SfHP 38 Honors Members for Outstanding Research, Practice, Teaching, and Service

Each year, the Society for Health Psychology gives awards for outstanding scientific contributions to the field. One goes to a “senior” member (i.e., someone who received her/his terminal degree >10 years ago); the other goes to an “early career” member (i.e., someone who received her/his terminal degree within the past ten years).

For 2016, the Awards Committee recognizes Dr. Tim Smith of the University of Utah as the Senior Professional Award winner, and Dr. Richard Slatcher of Wayne State University and Dr. A. Janet Tomiyama of the University of California, Los Angeles as the Early Career Professional Award winners.

The Award for Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Health Psychology is intended to recognize commitment to clinical health psychology by a full-time provider of direct clinical services. This year, the recipient is Dr. Lloyd Berg of The University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School Psychiatry Residency Program at the Seton Healthcare Family.

The 2016 recipient of the Cynthia D. Belar Award for Outstanding Contributions to Education & Training in Health Psychology is Dr. Christine Dunkel Schetter of the University of California, Los Angeles, for her exceptional performance in the education and mentorship of graduate students and postdoctoral scholars in health psychology.

The award for Career Service to Health Psychology was instituted in 1998, to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to Division 38 and/or the advancement of health psychology as a field, nationally or internationally. In 2008, the award was renamed for Dr. Nate Perry, a founding member and champion for health psychology for three decades.  The award is reserved for those whose professional accomplishments exemplify the vision and commitment of its namesake.  The Society is confident that Dr. Robert D. Kerns of Yale University is a worthy selection.

All the recipients will be honored at the annual Membership Meeting and Awards Ceremony, held in conjunction with the American Psychological Association convention in Denver, CO (Saturday, August 6, 4:00-4:50 pm, Hyatt Regency Denver , Centennial Ballrooms A&B – immediately following the Presidential Address). Awards for graduate student research and for outstanding Early Career and Student program submissions will also be presented. Please plan to attend to learn more about all the awardees and their achievements!